2019-06-14 - Fredericton Chamber Announces New President Karen Grant

FREDERICTON, NB – Last week at its 2019 annual general meeting, the Fredericton Chamber of Commerce welcomed Karen Grant of Kiers Marketing as its board of directors president for 2019-2020, taking over the role from Ryan Boyer of Cain Boyer Benefits Group. Boyer moves into the past president role for a one-year term.

Grant, a Fredericton native, has been a board member at the chamber since 2014. During that time, she has chaired many chamber committees including the Policy Development Committee, Provincial Government Affairs Committee, Business Excellence Awards Committee and the Physician Recruitment and Retention Committee. She was also the committee chairperson that brought the 2017 Canadian Chamber of Commerce annual meeting and conference to Fredericton.

“Having been a board member for more than five years, I’ve had the benefit of working with and learning from a variety of business leaders in Fredericton,” said Grant. “I am looking forward to building on the success of previous presidents and boards of directors to help improve the business conditions in the Fredericton area so that we can realize our organizational vision of Stronger Community Through Business Prosperity.

“Karen has been one of our most dedicated and knowledgeable volunteers even well before she joined the board in 2014,” said Krista Ross, Fredericton chamber CEO. “Our organization is extremely lucky to attract such high-quality, successful individuals that are willing to give their time to for greater good. Her knowledge of local business, her unrivaled passion for our community and her experience on the board put her in the perfect position to lead our organization for the next year.”

The chamber board also had a number of incoming board members confirmed, replacing members that completed a two-year term.

The newest members of the chamber board are: Cassandra Blackmore – Just Better Styling; Geoff Phinney – Fredericton Toyota; Shannon Dion – Bringloe Feeney; David Shipley – Beauceron Security; Mohammed Khirallah – Roticana Coffee; Lindsay Bowman – Connors Stillwell; and Shawna Foster – Moco Downtown.

In addition to Boyer and Grant, the other 2019-2020 executive members of the board are: Bob Chisholm (1st Vice President) - McDonald’s Restaurants; Jeff Saunders (2nd Vice President) - Teed Saunders Doyle; Jill Stairs (Treasurer) - Daye Kelly and Associates; Mark MacKenzie - Green Imaging; and Ken Critchley - Morneau Shepell.

The other returning board members at large are: Adam Peabody – Planet hatch; Lori Clarke – Lori Clarke Interior Design Inc; Kim Nash-McKinley – St. Mary’s First Nation; Lori Stickles – NB Liquor Corp.; Michael Melvin – McInnes Cooper; Dhirendra Shukla – UNB; Krishna Khaitan – AV Group.

The outgoing board members in 2019 are: Meaghan Seagrave - BioNB; Dan Pike - Medicine Shoppe; Wendy Hallihan - Exit Realty; Jason White - CBRE; Brenda Perrin - Radisson Kingswood Hotel & Suites; and Keir Clark - Scotia Wealth Management.


Fredericton Chamber of Commerce

The Fredericton Chamber of Commerce, a nationally accredited organization with nearly 1,000 members, is an active business organization engaged in policy development and advocacy that affects the competitiveness of our members and the Canadian business environment. The Chamber’s vision is Stronger Community Through Business Prosperity.

Contact: Krista Ross, Fredericton Chamber of Commerce CEO – (506) 458-8006